DRINKING TEA CAN TURN YOU INTO A POET

  

Last year, a company called Teavivre proposed to send me some teas to taste. With nothing to lose, of course I said yes. 

I tasted five different teas over the months: two black teas, one oolong, one green, and one white. Consensus: Where had these teas been all my life? Some of my usual teas became an abomination to the word “tea.” In short, I discovered that this is tea. 

Here are some excerpts from a few tastings:

January

Organic Superfine Dragon Well Long Jing Green Tea

“…after a night of battling a loathing cold and an upset stomach, this cup of green tea is like the life saving hand that pulls you out of the freezing water. With a swift motion it lays you out on soft warm grass to dry in the sun.”

  

February

Premium Keemun Hao Ya Black Tea

“…the warm liquid funnels my mind into a quiet place where I can more easily manage. Slow down…it seems to tell me, as it perfumes the roof of my mouth. My mind and senses align.” 

  

A Friday in March 

Organic White Peony (Bai MuDan) Tea

“First cup

Tiny white flowers

Early spring

Second cup

Breeze whispers through field of hay

Grazing ruminating animals dine

On earth’s generous sugars

Intermission

A fine liquor rests on my tongue salivating sweetly

Third cup

Bee’s wax and honeysuckle

Summer meadow bustling with busy animals collecting their share

Afterwards

Delectable sweet on my tongue

Fresh almost minty breeze in my throat”

  

May

Yunnan Dian Hong Black Tea Full-leaf

“smooth, sweet, and reminds me a little of butterscotch, ever so slightly. The mouth is left with a light and lingering cooling sensation after each sip.”

  

I didn’t say that drinking tea will turn you into a good poet. But a poet nonetheless.

These are not teas to drink while still half asleep. You will just pass them by, especially the delectable white peony. Brew them rather when you are wide awake and can quietly give them your attention. Stick your nose in your teacup to breath the aromas before taking a sip.

For the most part, I preferred these teas on their own. The black teas could be accompanied by a cookie or cake… something simple, such as shortbread…hint for next recipe…

Thank you, Teavivre, for a great tasting.

  

Links to the teas that I tasted:

Premium Keemun Hao Ya Black Tea

Yunnan Dian Hong Black Tea Full-leaf

Organic Superfine Dragon Well Long Jing Green Tea

Organic White Peony (Bai MuDan) Tea

Taiwan Dong Ding (Tung Ting) Oolong Tea

 

Leave a Reply

