FLOURLESS CHOCOLATE CAKE

Bonjour!

Since last I wrote, we bought a little stone townhouse… a charming fixer-upper.  The highly improvised and poorly lit kitchen inspires me to flip through kitchen catalogues and home decor magazines more than it inspires the act of cooking, hence my lack of word.

I recently came home to a chocolate craving, but nibbling on a square of chocolate just didn’t hit the spot. I needed something intense, creamy, chewy, dense but airy :  a French chocolate cake.

Flipping through my books, I searched for the recipe that would accommodate my craving, my lack of envy to cook, and working in my sorry excuse for a kitchen. I happened upon this recipe shared by Michael Roberts in his book, “Parisian Home Cooking.” Most importantly, choose good quality dark chocolate for making this cake. You won’t be disappointed.

Perfect for its simplicity and delicious, it was even better the second day.

recipe for flourless chocolate cake

You need :
A large mixing bowl
A smaller mixing bowl put over a double-boiler
Electric beaters
a cake pan (springform pan, or fluted tube pan)

10 oz unsweetened chocolate broken or chopped into small bits
1 cup brewed espresso (or very dark coffee)
8 tbs or one stick of unsalted butter
1/2 cup sugar
4 large eggs
Cacao powder for dusting

Preheat the oven to 350° F.  Butter and flour the cake pan or fluted tube pan.

Place the chocolate, espresso, butter, and sugar over the double boiler and heat until melted, stirring from time to time.

Beat the eggs in a large bowl at medium-high speed, until they are very thick, pale, and have quadrupled in volume. You can do this while the chocolate is melting, for about 10 minutes.

Turn the speed to medium-low and add the melted chocolate. Mix until incoporated.

Pour the batter into the prepared pan, and bake for about 40-45 minutes, until the top cracks. The center should rest slightly undercooked.

Allow to cool 30 minutes before unmolding. When cooled completely, sprinkle with cacao powder.

I keep it in the fridge, where it stays good for a few days.

On other things I have been learning to do this year:

Here, I learn to slice iron with fire.

4 comments

  1. I’ve been collecting a few different flourless chocolate cake recipe in search of the perfect one. I’ll have to give this one a go!

  2. camile hart

    looks amazing! Can’t wait to visit 🙂

Leave a Reply

