BAY LEAF ROASTED PLUMS

Bowl of roasted plums for dessert

Yesterday I stumbled upon a flavor pairing that left me giddy with cheer and I had to share right away.

Plum + bay leaf = love

Saturday, we bought some plums, but they turned out to be starchy and not very sweet. A complete disappointment, until…

I did what I always do with fruit that doesn’t pay – cooked them!  After a quick consultation with one of my favorite books, The Flavor Bible, by Karen Page and Andrew Dornenburg advising the unthinkable, I tucked a bay leaf under these moping plums and popped them in the oven.

The secret ingredient: a bay leaf

An hour later, the bang of a big brass band struck my tastebuds.  With a hop, skip, and a jump, here’s my little recipe.

recipe for Bay Leaf Roasted Plums:

plums (at least 10 or so)
a handful of sugar
a couple tablespoons of butter
a little heavy cream (maybe 1/4 cup)
a bay leaf

Preheat the oven to 350°F or 180°C.

Slice the plums into quarters and fill a small clay or pyrex roasting pan.

Tuck the bay leaf into the plums.

Pour over the heavy cream and place a few slices of butter over the plums.

Sprinkle with sugar and bake for about 30 minutes, or until the plum juices and heavy cream have thickened, making a pink sauce.

Serve warm and enjoy!

2 comments

  1. camile hart

    cool recipe!

    • Ooh. Sounds interesting! I love the Flavor Bible too! It is so handy for when I’m feeling creative in the kitchen and not sure what to do!

Leave a Reply

