CHESTNUT SABLÉS

Chestnut cookies dipped in dark chocolat

Spring days whiz by stringing me along. Chive, thyme, and violette flowers are budding… (I plan to eat them).  An herb garden now grows on my little terrace. I’ve never had so many plants growing under my supervision… luckily they don’t seem to realize the danger they are in, and I am giving it all I’ve got not to kill them this time.  Yesterday afternoon I rushed my violette to the bathtub and frantically rinsed off a growing population of black aphids, sucking sweet juices from the poor plant. Where are the ladybugs???

I haven’t posted lately for 5 reasons. 1- No internet until last week. 2- Wine school takes up lots of time. 3-  Organizing new house. But most importantly,  4- Almost everything I cook lately could use some… (clearing throat)… perfection before sharing. The previous sentence expresses the cause of much agony and gastronomic frustration indeed.  What happened to those little cakes that knock my socks off??  Luckily, my gastrnomic  life is not completely at a stand-still, as I am discovering a number of delicious local specialties around Pézenas, and will surely do a little report in the coming weeks.  Lastly, 5- Of the few (ok, two) things that have turned out, I forgot to take photos!  Let us hope that my culinary frustration will soon melt into the perfect fusion of ingredients that so tantalize my taste buds.

But enough yahdi yahdi yah. Luckily there are still a few good recipes in my personal archives. On the the point of this post : Chestnut flour!  Chestnuts are delicious in the winter, but chestnut flour is good all year long.  I found some last year at a market in the Champagne region, and also here in the Languedoc-Roussillon.  If you can’t find any locally, you can find it online.

I made these cookies with palm oil butter, which is very neutral in flavor and gives you a cookie that is very delicate and crumbly. You could use butter instead and they will probably take on a little more color and a caramel flavor. They are perfect with a cup of coffee in the afternoon.

recipe for chestnut sablés

200 g white flour
100 g chestnut flour
1 pinch of salt
1 tsp baking soda
100 g powdered sugar
100 g palm oil butter, or butter at room temperature
Melted dark chocolate for decoration

Mix the two  flours, salt, and baking soda together in a large bowl.

Cream the powdered sugar with the butter.

Add the butter mixture to the flour mixture and cream together until well mixed.  Using your hands might be the easiest!

Roll into a ball, flatten with your hand, and refrigerate for 10-15 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 150°C or 300°F.

Roll the dough to the thickness of about 4 mm, quite thin, and cut shapes with a cookies cutter. You can re-use the scraps until you have no more dough.

Bake on a non-stick cookie sheet for about 10-15 minutes, until they appear hardened and have taken just a little color.

Allow to cool on the baking sheet before removing.

Melt some dark chocolate dip part of each cookie. Using a spatula or flat knife spread a thin coat of chocolate on the back side of each cookie. Place the cookies on parchment or waxed paper.  Use a parchment cone (how to make) to decorate the cookies. Don’t overfill a parchement cone, or your chocolate will come out the back end and get all over your hands. Make sure you leave enough space to fold the end a few times.  Allow the chocolate to set before serving.

These cookies save for 3 or 4 days in an airtight tin.

3 comments

  1. Monica,

    Those are lovely! I have used almond flour, but not chestnut. That sounds yummy!

    Thanks for sharing!

  2. Tes

    It sounds interesting. It looks so delicious, too.

  3. camile

    good to see you posting again 🙂 those look awesome and I bet they’re delicious! ❤

Leave a Reply

