RHUBARB MOUSSE & PISTACHIO

gâteau-rhubarbe-printempsA layered mousse cake: pistachio joconde, rhubarb mousse, strawberry jam gélée, white chocolate whipped cream

It’s raining, it’s pouring, I’m moving… It’s a dark and rainy day here in Le Quesnoy and I’m packing boxes.  Just three little weeks of work and then new adventures begin with the month of June…

This recipe belongs to Cannelle et Vanille, who thinks up some of the most lovely desserts, and then takes stunningly joyful photos. I just followed the recipe, no changes except in decoration… oh, and strawberries. Strawberries were not yet in season in the north of France, so I opened a jar of my homemade strawberry jam and mixed it with a little water and gelatine. A few dandelions that were growing in the pastures around the village topped off the cake.

Edible flowers are one of my weak spots. They have a light parfum that one must be silent to taste. I just love them.

gâteau-rhubarbe-printemps2A slice of cake for spring

The pistachio joconde was absolutely delicious. I could have stopped there, though I was glad to continue. At first I found the rhubarbe mousse overshadowed the pistachio with its tart bite, but on the second day all the layers had made peace and we enjoyed every last bite. A delight!

Find the recipe at Canelle et Vanille.

2 comments

  1. What a dessert! This looks incredible. All of those scrumptious layers. Man oh man, I could totally go for a slice. Sorry that I’ve been an absent commenter; I just finished up my law school exams and am finally getting around to my google reader.

Leave a Reply

